Blocking People on Venmo [Complete 2021 Guide]

Updated & Verified: October 19, 2021

In 2020, Venmo processed over $150 billion with around 14% of adult American’s using it to send or receive payments. (1)

Because of its fairly widespread use, especially by people under the age of 35, it’s no surprise that there may be some people that you’d like to block within Venmo.

But can you block people in Venmo? If so, how? I decided to dig in and find the answer. Here is what I found.


In This Post:


Can You Block Someone on Venmo?

You can easily block people on Venmo from within the Venmo app and on the Venmo website.

Blocking someone on Venmo will prevent both of you from seeing and interacting with a number of things. This includes viewing each other’s future payments, prevent from mentioning each other from within Venmo, and sending or requesting money from each other.

RELATED: 9 Crucial Things to Know About Venmo Limits (Important!)

Blocking Someone on Venmo (Step-By-Step)

To block people on Venmo you can use either the Venmo app or the Venmo website.

Let’s take a closer look at exactly how to block someone on Venmo using each.

To Block Someone Using the Venmo App

1) Open the Venmo app and log in to your account.

2) Find the profile of the person you want to block and click on it.

3) When viewing the profile of the person you want to block, click on the 3 dots in the top right corner of the app to open that menu.

4) Click on the block button.

5) A confirmation window will open asking if you really want to block the person. If you do, again click on the block button.

To block Someone Using the Venmo Website

1) Go to the Venmo website and log in to your account.

2) Find the profile of the person you want to block and click on it.

3) When viewing the profile of the person you want to block, click on the 3 dots in the top right corner of the app to open that menu.

4) Click on the block button.

5) A confirmation window will open asking if you really want to block the person. If you do, again click on the block button.

What Happens When You Block Someone on Venmo?

When you block someone on Venmo, you will no longer be able to pay each other, request money from each other, view each other’s future payments, view or interact with other’s profiles, or mention each other within Venmo. The person you block will not be notified that you blocked them.

Common Reasons for Blocking People on Venmo

The main reason why people block others on Venmo is the person being blocked has been spamming payment requests to the person implementing the block and they want it to stop.

The other fairly common reason people block others on Venmo is to try to prevent them from seeing your transaction history from within the app.

How Does Blocking Someone on Venmo affect Transaction History?

Many people find out the hard way that blocking someone on Venmo doesn’t actually erase the transaction history between users and the person you blocked can still see those transactions.

Blocking someone on Venmo will only prevent them from seeing your future transactions with other people.

How to block someone on Venmo
Woman sitting on couch using Venmo.

Can Someone See If You Block Them on Venmo?

If you block someone on Venmo, they will not be notified that you blocked them. However, that doesn’t mean that they won’t be able to see that you blocked them if they actually look.

How You Can Tell if Someone Blocks You on Venmo

The only way you can really tell if someone blocks you on Venmo is by trying to send money to them or request money from them within Venmo. If they have you blocked, you won’t be able to find their profile.

How You Can Tell If Someone Blocked You on Venmo (Step-By-Step)

1) Open the Venmo app and log in to your account.

2) Press the blue “Pay or Request” button.

3) Start typing the name of the person you think may have blocked you. If the person was in your contacts but now no longer shows up, they either deleted their Venmo account or they have you blocked.

4) If you aren’t sure if you had them in your contacts, start typing their name and then click on “See more results…”. This will bring up Venmo users that you don’t have in your contact list. If you still aren’t able to find that person, they either deleted their Venmo account or blocked you.

Wrapping Up

You can easily block people in Venmo. If you do block someone, they won’t be notified but it is still possible for them to tell that you blocked them.

However, blocking a person won’t prevent them from being able to see your past transactions with them. It will only prevent both of you from seeing and interacting with each other’s profiles, viewing each other’s future payments, prevent from mentioning each other from within Venmo, and prevent from sending or requesting money from each other.

References

1. Balancing Everything – https://balancingeverything.com/venmo-statistics/

Get Paid to Write For Us!